I went to sleep at about 5 am this morning. Two and a half hours later I woke up and drove the kids to school. Do you think I came back home and went right back to sleep? As smart as that would have been, I did not. Instead, I made a couple posts to Twitter, checked on Psyborg TV’s double feature, and then drove over to the theater. There, I shelled out $11.50 for a ticket and $11.25 for some nachos and a latte. Finding a seat in front of screen eight, I anxiously awaited for the projectionist (are they even called projectionists now) to roll the footage of Star Trek: Into Darkness 3D. Was it worth the $22.75 I dished out to the good folks at Regal Cinemas? Read on to find out.

The movie, for the five people in the world that don’t know, is J.J. Abrams’ sequel to his wildly successful 2009 movie that rebooted the movie franchise. Fans of tat movie will be glad to know that the continuity of the films is maintained very well. Of course, since this is an Abrams film, you can also expect huge amounts of special effects so perfectly rendered that you will find it hard to detect them as CG. The returning cast, including Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Zoe Saldana, Karl Urban, Simon Pegg, John Cho, Anton Yelchin, and Bruce Greenwood deliver standup performances as members of the crew from the original series. Most exciting to me though is Benedict Cumberbatch as the villain. I am a huge fan of BBC’s Sherlock and seeing him assume the role of one of cinema’s most notorious baddies is quite the pleasure. He brings a quiet intensity to his character whose name I’ll not reveal for the sake of preserving the chill in your spine you will likely get when it is revealed. I am not afraid to admit that a I felt one.

I do have one complaint though. The 3D effects in the film are not all that impressive. I mean, after Avatar I find myself comparing all other 3D films to it. The effects do not come close and were not worth the extra $3.00 when the film would work just as well in regular 2D. And that’s coming from the guy that paid to see Avatar eight times in 3D. Which brings me to the alien heads…

Star Trek: Into Darkness is a film best suited for Star Trek fans, science fiction fans, big action fans, and those looking to be wowed with amazing special effects. Abrams’ has brought us a film that is fun, entertaining, and (perhaps most importantly) very rewatchable. That said, I am rating the film without considering the failings of the 3D. Instead, I am going to strongly suggest you see the 2D version. This film gets 

