Get the Kindle Edition Today!


Back to my ongoing review of Lincoln Crisler’s Corrupts Absolutely? This is a collection of twenty-one tales of individuals with amazing powers. The collection itself has taken a couple hits from me over the past few stories, but I have yet to roll a natural 20 on this one. Today, I will be looking at “The Origin of Slashy” by Jeff Strand. Strand has written several novels and claims that if he ever got superpowers he would just make YouTube videos. Is this the story that starts bringing this collection back from the borderline?

“The Origin of Slashy” may seem like a stupid title, but don’t judge by the title alone. It starts with the story of a rape. The victim, sadly like many real rape victims, attempts suicide. However, when she slashes her wrists, they heal right up without so much as a scar. Well if she can’t have death, then the man that raped her can. What follows is a tale of vengeance, murder, and warped morality. And the whole of it is written in a way that reminds me of the genius of Neil Gaiman. In short, very well written and very entertaining. I give this story a full 

This maintains the overall score of the book at 4 alien heads. A couple more like this will put this book between 4.5 and 5 alien heads. I still strongly recommend Mr. Crisler’s collection to you, my dear readers.

