While I know the basics of the Tarzan story I have never read the books or watched the movies. Therefore, I had nothing to weigh Dynamite’s Lord of the Jungle #14 against when I cracked it open other than what my idea of a good comic should be. Little did I know that the issue I had gotten was the tail end of a six-part story that I have not read the previous five issues to. Luckily, knowing the basics is all I really needed. SPOILERS BEYOND THIS POINT!

In the legendary city of Opar, Jane Porter has been captured by the greedy and wicked man named Rokoff. His plan is to steal all of the gold in the city and enslave its people. Little do they know that Tarzan’s friend La is sneaking Jane out of the Temple of the Flaming God and that Tarzan is leading a posse of natives there to attack. After fighting through a contingent of slaves and sending arrow’s through the throats of Rokoff’s bodyguards, Tarzan appears and engages in a knife fight with the evil Russian. Defeating him, Tarzan returns Opar to its people and takes Rokoff to be turned into the French. He reveals his rich heritage to Jane and confesses his love for her and we end the story with them locked in the classic Hollywood sunset kiss.

Having never been particularly interested in Tarzan, I did not expect too much from reading this title. Being the end of a story I haven’t read the first five parts to, I expected even less. However, the story written by Arvid Nelson did not require having to go back and read the other parts. The gist was given to you without a whole bunch of boring narration. One of the things that drove me from Tarzan was his broken speech pattern, but Nelson avoids doing this.Shop for Comics Online

The art was done by Roberto Castro and he does a great job at animating the images. It is truly a pleasure to view action scenes drawn by him. And his use of upward and downward angles gives his images unique dynamics that add to the story. The colors by Alex Guimaraes are vibrant and pop off of the page without being overpowering and the shading helps add to the emotions on the page be they anger, surprise, or love.

Dynamite has a wonderful title here and they have just got themselves a new monthly reader. Hell, I may even have to pick up Edgar Rice Burroughs’ novels and give them a read thanks to the team behind Lord of the Jungle. ½

