I got off of work today and rushed home completely excited to take my eight year old son to see Jurassic Park 3D. Keep, in mind that I watched this move (after reading the book) when it was first released. So what did I get with this new release of a movie that awed me as a child?

The sad truth is… absolutely nothing except the pleasure of an almost empty movie theater (a rare occurrence). There were previews for Pacific Rim, Oblivion, Star Trek: Into Darkness, and Man of Steel in 3D which would have been great if I hadn’t already seen them on TV or online. The same thing can be said for the movie that followed.

Jurassic Park on Amazon

Honestly Spielberg? At one point you were the Chuck Norris of filmmakers. What happened? Even George Lucas put extra scenes into the theatrical re-releases of the original Star Wars movies. This release of Jurassic Park offered no extra scenes and the 3D, was sketchy at best (as are many films not shot in 3D and then edited for 3D later). I even waited until after the credits hoping for some sort of bonus. However, I was met only with a blank screen.

Now, don’t get me wrong. This is still a great movie and being able to take my son to see it in the theater was great. However, it was not worth the $25.00 admission for the both of us. And, seeing as how I am rating this release of the movie and not the original, it pains me to give it – . Do yourselves a favor, buy a good DVD or Blu-Ray and watch introduce your children to it at home.

